SSD Announces 2020-21 Building Level ESPoY Winners

In 2018, the Delaware State Educational Support Professional of the Year Program was established under House Bill 134 as amended by House Amendment No. 1 of the 149th General Assembly. In 2019, the Delaware Department of Education drafted Regulation 237 to implement the program and establish policies and procedures for the award. The first state winner will be selected in November 2020 to serve as the 2021 Delaware Educational Support Professional of the Year.

This program requires that each year, every school district recognizes outstanding service by school employees who provide direct or indirect services to students and their families. These include paraprofessionals, custodial staff, secretaries, nutritional staff and school- and district employed bus drivers and aides.

From those nominated at a building level, one educational support professional of the year moves forward to represent each district or the charter school community in the state program. The state program will chose one person annually to serve as Delaware Educational Support Professional of the Year.